Ford Engine Firing Order [302, 5.4, 4.6, 390, 5.0 351]

A car engine will work properly with the corresponding sequence, and all mechanics in the world must adjust the machinery of a car so that it does not fail.

In today’s article, we will discuss the firing order of Ford engines and talk about the most common ones used in these engines.

What Is The Engine Order For A Ford?

You will find two variations when it comes to engines, gasoline, and diesel. The first ones, meaning the gasoline engines, need to use spark plugs to make the fuel work. 

After the air is compressed and reaches a boiling state in a diesel variation, the fuel is introduced, and burning scenarios occur. Furthermore, the spark is fired by a specific sequence, and then, fuel needs to be injected following a firing order.  

A company like Ford Motor built different types of truck engines, and they don’t have the same size or power capacities. Actually, you will be able to find a total of seven truck engines, which are utilized to power different truck versions. 

Next up, we are going to talk about different firing orders, starting with the 302

Ford Engine Firing Order

Ford 302 Firing Order 

First, we have the 302 firing order. It depends on the truck’s model and its year. The most recent HO engines work using a 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8 as a fire order, while previous models used the 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8 sequence.

As for the earliest 302 engines, they work following the same firing order as the 260 or the 280 engines, and LH needs a: 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8 while the RH uses: 1-8-4-5-6-2-7-3. 

After these models were developed, Ford worked on the next ones. They were called 302 Marine, and they needed the 351 W engines firing order, where LH worked with: 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8 and the newest RH: 1-8-4-5-6-2-7-3. 

The switch was made from 1972 to 1974. Also, Ford incorporated cylinders from 1, 2, 3 to 4, and they were put closer to the firewall. We must mention that on the driver’s side, the cylinders are 5, 6, 7, and 8, but the last number is the closest one to the firewall. 

If you want to know if your car’s engine works using the standard non-HO firing order, you need to pull the cover of the valve and put the 1 cylinder at the TDC (top dead center). 

Right when you feel the air coming outside the whole of the 1 spark plug, you should take note of the order of a sequence. 

Firing order 5.4

There is something tricky about the 5.4 Triton, because you need to determine the exact top or bank cylinder, which is primary to get to the starting point. 

If you want to ignite these engines, follow the sequence: 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. 

Plus, on the passenger’s side, the combination of cylinders is 1, 2, 3, and 4, while on the driver’s side is 5, 6, 7, and lastly, 8.  

Firing order 4.6

With engines like these ones, the firing order will be 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. Cylinders go from 1 to 4 on the driver’s side and from 5 to 8 on the passenger side. 

Many Ford vans and cars utilize this engine, and due to major issues, the company stopped with the engine production. 

Firing order 390 

A total of 9 alterations were made to the 390 V8 engine since it was launched back in 1961. In all 9 variations, Ford kept the original firing order, which is 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8. 

Firing order 5.0 

Now we are talking about a 5-liter engine. There are two models, a Ford 5.0 liter V-8 VIN “N”, and the V-8 VIN “P”. Both engines come with different firing orders

First, on the passenger’s side, you will encounter cylinders from 1, 2, and 3 to 4. Meanwhile, the driver’s side presents cylinders from 5, 6, and 7 to 8. 

A Ford 5.0 V-8 VIN “N” has a firing order of 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8, and the Ford 5.0 V-8 VIN “P” has a fire order like 1-4-7-2-6-5-4-8. Keep in mind that it doesn’t matter the positions of each spark plug wire, but you need to respect the order of the numbers

Firing order 351 

Lastly, we have the Ford 351 engine. It can vary from a 351 C, to a 351 and a 400 M. C stands for Cleveland, while M is used for Michigan. 

Both engines share a firing order, and it is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. However, they can be different from standards such as 289, 302, and 351 Small Block Ford. 

Liam Dare

As CEO of, my passion for the automotive world motivates me to build online businesses that provide information and entertainment to users. I am proud to contribute in a positive way to the automotive community.